

# The 20-Ghost Club Limited

Company No. 05224632 - A Company Limited by Guarantee

MINUTES of the Fourteeth Annual General Meeting of The 20-Ghost Club Limited (incorporating the Sixty-Eighteenth Annual General Meeting of The 20-Ghost Club) held at Magdalene College, Cambridge, CB3 0AG on Saturday 17<sup>th</sup> March 2018 at 7.00pm

#### **DIRECTORS PRESENT**

Sir John Stuttard (Chairman)

Tim Forrest (Vice-President and Director)

Ashley Carmichael (Director)

Roland Duce (Director)

Ken Forbes (Director and Company Secretary)

Philip Hall (Director and Treasurer)

Rosemary Jeffreys (Director)

Fokko Keuning (Director)

Strone Macpherson (Director)

Doug Magee (Director)

Brian Palmer (Director)

John Redmill (Director)

Graham Tyson (Director)

### **APOLOGIES**

Apologies for absence were received from Graham Adams, Clayton Banks, Anthony Beech-Thomas, Richard Buckingham, Clive Barham Carter, Andrew Crisford, Charles Cole, Steve Copson, William Corbett, Tony Dyas, Michael Elliott, David Else, John Fasal, Brian Fidler, Allan Fogg, Johnnie Gallop, John Goose, Michael Hilditch, Bernard Holmes, Nigel Hughes, Tony Hunt, Michael Joy, John Kennedy, Nick Naismith, Michael Norman, Miles Preston and Charles Tabor.

Apologies were also received from the Chairman of the Australian Chapter, Peter Crauford, who sent his best wishes from the Australian half of our Club and, indeed, from all down under.

It was with particular sadness that members at the AGM formally recorded the deaths in the last year of Graham Bennett, Philip Tombleson, Ian Eccleston and Rhondda Vassallo. They will all be missed.

#### MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

These had been circulated via the Club's website.

## **ANNUAL REPORT & ACCOUNTS**

The Annual Report for 2017 and the Accounts for the year ended 31 October 2017 had been circulated electronically to all Members. The adoption of the Annual Report & Accounts was proposed by Henry Fitzhugh and seconded by Ashley Carmichael and approved unanimously in the meeting.

## **ELECTION OF DIRECTORS**

The following directors were proposed by Terry Bramhall and seconded by Sue Taylor for the ensuing year and were unanimously re-elected in the meeting:

Ashley Carmichael

Roland Duce

Brian Fidler

Ken Forbes

Tim Forrest

Doug Magee

Philip Hall

Rosemary Jeffreys

Fokko Keuning

Strone Macpherson

Nick Naismith

**Brian Palmer** 

John Redmill

Sir John Stuttard

Graham Tyson

#### **ELECTION OF TREASURER**

Philip Hall was proposed by the Chairman and seconded by James Black as Treasurer for the ensuing year and was unanimously elected in the meeting.

#### ANY OTHER BUSINESS

The Chairman thanked all members of the Committee, individually, for their contribution to the Club's activities and those who had organised tours during 2017.

The Chairman announced that Susie Forrest would be standing down at the end of the evening as Trophy Master, a position she had held for 21 years. She was thanked for her contribution to the Club and, at the end of the dinner, she was presented with a special gift from the Club by the Chairman, who was joined by members of the Club in expressing thanks and gratitude.

The Chairman thanked Tim & Susie Forrest who had arranged the AGM and who had, in particular, devised the seating plan and menu card for dinner. Both had agreed to organise the dinner for one more year which would mean that they had performed this role for the Club for 25 years.

The Chairman announced that he had now completed two terms of four years in the office of Chairman and, under the Club's rules, he would be standing down in 2018. He further announced that the Committee had decided that Ken Forbes should be the next Chairman. Ken Forbes thanked the Chairman for his contribution to the Club over the last years, which members greeted with accord. It was announced that the present Chairman would continue to chair meetings of the Committee until October when the new Chairman would take over.

There being no other formal business, the formal meeting closed and the Chairman proceeded to describe the events programme, as follows.

#### **TOURS & EVENTS – 2018**

- Spring lunch at Armsworth Park House on 22 April
- A short tour of South and South West Cornwall between 6 and 11 May organised by Graham Tyson
- The Irish Georgian Society Tour of Northamptonshire from 25 to 28 May (the Bank Holiday)
  based in Kettering
- Then the major tour of Poland and Germany between 24 June and Sunday 15 July which is down to me
- A few days in Magnificent Yorkshire from 5 August to Thursday 9 August, organised by Terry Bramhall
- 16 to 18 September "An Enticing Taste of Buckinghamshire", planned by Brian Fidler
- One day tour with a visit to Croft Castle (NT), Herefordshire Saturday 22 September, planned by Ashley Carmichael
- Finally, on 7 October Autumn Lunch event at Flitwick Manor which Brian Palmer is nursing

#### **NEXT AGM & ANNUAL DINNER**

• Friday 8<sup>th</sup> March 2019 – AGM and Annual Dinner at Vintners' Hall in the City of London.

## AWARD OF TROPHIES AFTER DINNER (TO BE RETURNED WITHIN ONE YEAR)

## **Mileage Trophies**

**Alpine - Highest Mileage by a car** was awarded to Fokko Keuning and his Phantom II Continental 47MW.

**Woodmansee - Highest Mileage by a Ghost** was awarded to Mermie Karger with her 1913 Silver Ghost chassis no 2442.

**Small Horsepower - Highest Mileage** was awarded to Henry Fitzhugh and Rosemary Jeffreys in 25/30 GRP49.

### **Other Trophies**

**The Harding Rolls Trophy** was awarded to Rupert Grey for his exceptional journeys around India and then from Gdansk to Athens.

The Stanley Sears Trophy for Meritorious Service was awarded to Rosemary Jeffreys for her outstanding service in connection with the introduction of the new General Data Protection Regulations.

The Dymock Maunsell Trophy for the Club's Best Driver was awarded to Nick Whitaker.

**The Fergusson Wood under 35 Trophy** was awarded to Katie Forrest for her performance at the Concours Hampton Court Palace, where she put the 20-Ghost Club in the spotlight.

**The Fergusson Wood Photographic Award** was awarded to Nanette Elenbaas for her photographs of the Iberian Tour, appearing in News and Record.

The Brian Wootton Trophy for Most Assistance Given on Tours was awarded to Anthony Armitage for his assistance to participants on the Iberian Tour.

**The Phoenix Trophy** was awarded to Tim Forrest for his restoration of his 1924 Silver Ghost chassis no 16RM.

The Harry Watson Trophy for Engineering Accomplishment was not awarded this year.

The following Concours Trophies were presented at the Annual Concours at Sudeley Castle:

Fred & Joan Watson: Large HP Tim Forrest Messervy: Small HP Peter Brook

Ladies Choice Daniel Ghose

Fokko Keuning and Doug Magee were thanked for presenting the awards as the Club's Honorary President could not be present due to a public commitment outside the UK.