

The 20-Ghost Club Limited

Company No. 05224632 - A Company Limited by Guarantee

MINUTES of the Eleventh Annual General Meeting of The 20-Ghost Club Limited (incorporating the Sixty-Fifth Annual General Meeting of the 20-Ghost Club) held at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, CB2 1RH on Saturday 28 February 2015

DIRECTORS PRESENT

Sir John Stuttard (Chairman) Tim Forrest (Vice-President and Director) Ashley Carmichael (Director) Roland Duce (Director) Ken Forbes (Director and Company Secretary) Rosemary Jeffreys (Director) Michael Lyndon-Stanford (Director) Strone Macpherson (Director) Nick Naismith (Director) Brian Palmer (Director) John Redmill (Director) Graham Tyson (Director)

APOLOGIES

Apologies had been received from our Honorary President, HRH The Duke of Gloucester, William & Clare Corbett, Brian & Wendy Fidler, Philip Hall, Michael & Linda Hilditch, Nigel & Ann Hughes, John & Rae Kennedy, Fokko Keuning, Russell & Heather Rolls, Peter & Polly Vacher and Nick Whittaker.

Apologies were also received from the new Chairman of the Australian Chapter, Peter Crauford, who sent his best wishes from the Australian half of our Club and, indeed, from all down under.

John Stuttard recorded, with sadness, the deaths in the last year of three of our once very active members, John Marsh, Digby Wills and Max Watson. Obituaries have been written on each of the three, who have contributed a great deal to the Club over the years. These obituaries have appeared in the last three issues of News & Record. They will all be sorely missed and condolences have been sent by the Club to their families.

MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

These had been circulated.

ANNUAL REPORT & ACCOUNTS

The Annual Report for 2014 and the Accounts for the year ended 31 October 2014 were circulated electronically to all Members, following an EGM on 9 January 2015, unanimously approving electronic communication as the means of fulfilling our Statutory responsibilities. The adoption of the Annual Report & Accounts was proposed by Henry Fitzhugh and seconded by Clayton Banks and approved unanimously in the meeting.

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

After very many years, Jimmy Valentine has announced his retirement from the Committee. In recognition of his very significant contribution to the Club, Jimmy has been appointed an Honorary Vice-President of the Club.

The following directors were proposed for the ensuing year and were unanimously reelected in the meeting:

Ashley Carmichael Roland Duce Brian Fidler Ken Forbes Tim Forrest Nigel Hughes Rosemary Jeffreys Michael Lyndon-Stanford Strone Macpherson Nick Naismith Brian Palmer John Redmill Sir John Stuttard Graham Tyson

ELECTION OF TREASURER

Brian Fidler was proposed as Treasurer for the ensuing year and was unanimously re-elected in the meeting. Brian has given notice that he wishes to hand over the post of Treasurer at the AGM in 2016 and the Chairman requested that any Member who was interested in taking on the role contact him or any other Committee member. The Committee are extraordinarily grateful to Brian for all his work over the last seven years as Treasurer.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

John Stuttard thanked all members of the Committee, individually, for their contribution to the Club's activities and those who had organised tours during 2014.

Finally, he thanked Tim & Susie Forrest who had arranged the AGM and who had, in particular, devised the menu card and collected the trophies.

There being no other formal business, the formal meeting closed and the Chairman proceeded to describe the events programme, as follows.

EUROPEAN TOURS & EVENTS – 2015

In April, a weekend tour of Hampshire & Wiltshire & Spring lunch In May, the Irish Georgian to the Republic of Ireland Followed by a 20-Ghost Club tour of the Republic of Ireland In June, tour of Wessex including the Chalke Valley Festival In July, an informal Concours D'Etat at Boughton House, Banbury In September, a tour of the Lake District In October, a tour in Stratford upon Avon, followed by the Autumn Lunch

EUROPEAN TOURS & EVENTS – 2016

A major tour to the West and South West of France

NEXT AGM & ANNUAL DINNER

The Armourer's Hall in the City of London on Friday 26, February 2016

AWARD OF TROPHIES AFTER DINNER

Mileage Trophies

Alpine - Highest Mileage by a car awarded to Anthony Armitage

The Alpine Trophy was awarded to Anthony Armitage who has now recorded 190,000 miles in the family Phantom 1

Woodmansee - Highest Mileage by a Ghost was not awarded this year.

Small Horsepower - Highest Mileage was awarded to David Crossley Cooke.

Other Trophies

The Harding Rolls Trophy, not awarded this year

The Stanley Sears Trophy for Meritorious Service was awarded to Jimmy Valentine for his outstanding service to the Club over decades.

The Dymock Maunsell Trophy for the Club's Best Driver was not awarded this year

The Fergusson Wood under 35 Trophy was not awarded this year

The Fergusson Wood Photographic Award was given to Henry Fitzhugh for his great photographs of the WW1 tour.

The Brian Wootton Trophy for Most Assistance Given on Tours was awarded to Roy O'Sullivan

The Harry Watson Trophy for Engineering Accomplishment was not awarded this year

The Phoenix Trophy was to John Redmill for his loving care bestowed on his 20/25 to rebuild the coachwork back to original specification