

# The 20-Ghost Club Limited

Company No. 05224632 - A Company Limited by Guarantee

MINUTES of the Tenth Annual General Meeting of The 20-Ghost Club Limited (incorporating the Sixty-Fourth Annual General Meeting of the 20-Ghost Club) held at The Travellers Club, 106 Pall Mall, London SW1 on Friday 21<sup>st</sup> February 2014

### **PRESENT**

Sir John Stuttard (Chairman)

Tim Forrest (Vice-President and Director)

Roland Duce (Director)

Brian Fidler (Director)

Ken Forbes (Director and Company Secretary)

Nigel Hughes (Director)

Strone Macpherson (Director)

Nick Naismith (Director)

Brian Palmer (Director)

John Redmill (Director)

Graham Tyson (Director)

Jimmy Valentine (Director)

#### **APOLOGIES**

Apologies had been received from Honorary President, HRH The Duke Gloucester, Graham Adams, Antony & Gill Armitage, Graham & Jane Ashley-Carter, Ashley & Adrienne Carmichael, William & Clare Corbett, Sean Dowling, William Ehrnrooth, Michael & Angelika Elliott, Ken & Ann Fairburn, Wendy Fidler, Peter & Ann Golding, Michael & Linda Hilditch, Michael & Inga Lyndon-Stanford, John & Kay Marsh, Martin & Judith Neal, John & Susan O'Dowd, Sarah Tyson and George Tyson, Max & Jenny Watson.

Apologies were also received from the Chairman of the Australian Chapter, David Vann, who sent his best wishes from members in Australia.

John Stuttard recorded, with sadness, the deaths in the last year of two once very active members, Colin Laybourn and David Robson. Condolences had been sent by the Club to their families.

#### MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

These had been circulated.

#### ANNUAL REPORT & ACCOUNTS

The Annual Report for 2013 and the Accounts for the year ended 31 October 2013 were received. The adoption of the Annual Report & Accounts was approved unanimously in the meeting.

### **ELECTION OF DIRECTORS**

The following directors were proposed for the ensuing year and were unanimously reelected in the meeting:

R.J.B. Duce

B.H. Fidler

K.R. Forbes

T.J. Forrest

N.H. Hughes

M. Lyndon-Stanford

P.S.S. Macpherson

N.J.E. Naismith

B. Palmer

J.R. Redmill

Sir John Stuttard FCA

G.B.M. Tyson

F.A.B. Valentine

#### **ELECTION OF TREASURER**

Brian Fidler was proposed as Treasurer for the ensuing year and was unanimously re-elected in the meeting.

#### ANY OTHER BUSINESS

John Stuttard thanked all members of the Committee, individually, for their contribution to the Club's activities and those who had organised tours during 2013.

John Stuttard thanked Tim Forrest and Nick Naismith particularly for organising a superb tour in the Alps to commemorate the Centenary of the 1913 Austrian Alpenfahrt. He congratulated them on being awarded the International Historic Motoring Award.

Finally, he thanked Tim & Susie Forrest who had arranged the AGM and who had, in particular, devised the menu card and collected the trophies.

There being no other formal business, the formal meeting closed and the Chairman proceeded to describe the events programme, as follows.

#### **EUROPEAN TOURS & EVENTS – 2014**

- In the Spring, a weekend in Devon
- In May, the Irish Georgian to West Norfolk
- In June, a weekend in Bedfordshire including an informal Concours D'Etat
- In August, a tour of Flanders and Northern France commemorating the Centenary of the outbreak of the First World War
- In October, a tour of Sussex

Sir John Stuttard Chairman

## AWARD OF TROPHIES AFTER DINNER

## **Mileage Trophies**

## Alpine - Highest Mileage by a car awarded to John Kennedy

The Alpine Trophy was awarded to John Kennedy who was a member of the Rolls-Royce Motor Cars team that took part in the Club's Centenary Alpine trial over the same route taken in 1913. In all he covered 6,580 miles in his 100 year old car.

Woodmansee - Highest Mileage by a Ghost was not awarded this year.

Small Horsepower - Highest Mileage was not awarded this year.

## **Other Trophies**

The Harding Rolls Trophy, originally won by Charles Rolls, was awarded to John Kennedy for his remarkable performance driving the only known survivor of the four 1913 Rolls-Royce Team cars on the 2013 Centenary Alpine Rally. He not only drove to and from the event on the original route taken by Radley in 1913, he then completed the trial going over the passes not once but several times. As part of the Rolls-Royce Team, he hosted Journalists from around the world every day and by the end had probably taught at least 20 of them how to drive his car. Before and after the event he drove to a major car exhibition and then having driven back to England he took some more journalists 10 times up the test hill at Goodwood. In all an astonishing 293 articles were written about the cars and the event. John and his car had driven over 6,500 miles and visited 10 different countries.

The Stanley Sears Trophy for Meritorious Service was awarded to Brian Fidler for recovering almost all the funds from an Isle of Man bank that got into financial difficulties.

The Dymock Maunsell Trophy for the Club's Best Driver was awarded to Brian Palmer for driving all the way to Austria and back, as well completing the Alpine tour and many other tours during the year.

**The Fergusson Wood under 35 Trophy** went to Tim Milverton for his participation in the 2013 Centenary Alpine Rally.

**The Fergusson Wood Photographic Award** was given to Colin Hughes for his many photos that have appeared in *News & Record*.

The Brian Wootton Trophy for Most Assistance Given on Tours was awarded to Charlie Naismith for his outstanding service on the Alpine Trials, looking after participants and ensuring that they were safely delivered from one hotel to the next.

The Harry Watson Trophy for Engineering Accomplishment was awarded to Nigel Hughes for writing so many technical articles for *News & Record*.

**The Phoenix Trophy** was not awarded this year.